Weight Watcher Wednesday Recipe – Sick friend? Make Chicken Soup!


Our friend, Michael, has had a bad case of bronchitis. Ugh! It has been a while since I have been as sick as my poor friend. He felt so bad and of course, was coughing and feverish. What to do? Make Chicken Soup, of course! 

I made my soup with potatoes but you can substitute egg noodles for a more traditional Chicken Noodle.  I doubled the recipe and kept a pot at home for our family. It was lip-smacking yummy…even not sick. 🙂 

INGREDIENTS:

1 teaspoon olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, chopped fine
1/2 cup chopped green onion (about 8) or any sweet onion
1 cup chopped carrots
2 cups cooked chicken, cut into bite size pieces
2 cups cubed frozen hashbrowns or egg noodles
1 tablespoon fresh chopped parsley or 1 teaspoon dried 
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 dried bay leaf
5 1/2 cups chicken broth, I use Better than Bouillon. It makes a very rich broth.

Over medium heat, heat oil and add garlic, onion and carrots.
Cook 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Stir in rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat. Cover and simmer at least 10 minutes or until veggies are done. I like to simmer a little longer with the potatoes, about 30 minutes. 

This is a quick and easy but delicious and filling recipe. 

Makes 4 servings.

Weight Watcher points – 8

sharing:

Comments

  1. Chicken soup is the best food when your sick. Our family has been battling colds and so I made chicken soup last week. Um Um good! I also put potatoes in mine. 🙂

  2. I think I will try this. I've found a lot of chicken soup recipes that are surprisingly complicated. This looks nice and straight-foward.

  3. I have a friend who calls chicken soup, nature's natural antibiotic! I know it always makes me feel better. Thanks for dropping by and I hope you have a fantabulous weekend! 🙂

  4. Let me know how you like it, Robin! It is so easy to make but yet it is a family favorite. Thanks for dropping by and hope your weekend is relaxing! 🙂

  5. This sounds perfect right now…it is 10 pm here…too late t make it? I don't know…kind of craving it now!

  6. Is it ever too late for something so good? 😉 Let me know if you make it! Have a great weekend.

  7. mmmhomemade chicken soupis deliciousand one of my favorite mealsto make and to eatthanks for sharingat Fridays Unfoldedand for followingfollowing back!{alison}

  8. Thank you, Alison! 🙂

  9. Thanks for stopping by Pinner Takes All. This soup looks great and I just rejoined WW!

  10. Thanks, Kathy! The soup is so good. I have several WW recipes on the site. I joined about 2 months ago. Lost about 15 pounds so far. Slow but hopefully it will stay off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Bunny Tales

Sweet Sophistication with a Touch of Whimsy

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

